BAD THEOLOGY AND MEAN CHRISTIANS

Bad theology doesn’t make a person a false teacher, or a deceiver, or a wicked person. Over the years, I have had to change my theology on various subjects because I am in continuous pursuit of the truth in every area.

If you had heard some of my teachings in the late 90’s, you would have recognize that it was straight out of the “prosperity gospel” playbook.

Though I had bad theology regarding prosperity, I had good theology in other areas. I was seeking Jesus and seeking the truth in all areas of my life. Therefore, I wasn’t a false teacher; I simply had bad theology concerning prosperity.

Eventually (in the late 90’s – early 2000’s) my theology regarding prosperity begin to change. The Spirit of Christ lead me more fully into the truth as Jesus promised he would.

Even now, I have some bad theology that I am not even aware of. Eventually, I will see that I have it wrong in that area as well, and when I do, I will change. Yet for now I look to Jesus to guide me into all truth just as he always has.

We are all a work in progress and we need to be careful not to condemn others who may have some bad theology in a particular area. If the truth be known, a critical and judgmental attitude towards our fellow Christians is FAR more offensive to God than bad theology about things such as money. If a person is seeking God, God will lead them into all truth in due time.

The Bible goes to great lenghts to teach us to be kind, patient, and loving towards our brothers and sisters in Christ.

Don’t become a MEAN christian over another believer’s bad theology. Instead, yield to the Spirit of Christ and be patient and gentle towards them.

A servant of the Lord must not quarrel but must be kind to everyone, be able to teach, and be patient with difficult people. Gently instruct those who oppose the truth. Perhaps God will change those people’s hearts, and they will learn the truth. (2 Timothy 2:24-25)

…the wisdom from above is first of all pure. It is also peace loving, gentle at all times, and willing to yield to others. It is full of mercy and the fruit of good deeds. It shows no favoritism and is always sincere. And those who are peacemakers will plant seeds of peace and reap a harvest of righteousness. (James 3:17-18)

Blessings…

Leave a Reply

